The ERBC analysis indicates five addtional areas in Sikkim that are not currently protected, but that hold considerable ecological significance and are thus worthy of protection. This include two watershed areas and three large forest areas. Due to ongoing human activity in and adjacent to these five areas, it is proposed that biodiversity conservstion be persued according to community-based management strategies that are different from those practiced in the existing national parks and santuaries.

These five areas are

  • Chho Lhamo Plateau Watershed
  • Yumthang-Lachung Valley Watershed
  • Barsay-Kanchandzonga Connectivity
  • The Pangolakha Range
  • Kyongnosla Extension